h1

Plum Pickin’

August 1, 2010

I’ve noticed that Plums are becoming a theme in this blog lately – which is funny since I never even had a plum before I met Andrew!  I was more of the strawberries, bananas & apples kind of girl.  I think those were the only fruits I ate growing up.  This is definitely NOT true for Maya!  She loves almost every fruit.  Especially watermelon!  But she also loves anything she can eat herself, whole pears were one of her first favorites.  Forget it when we get to the fruit section of the grocery store…I can’t make it through without letting her chow on a nectarine!

But I digress…this is about Plums, particularly the plum tree in our yard.  Yup, that’s right we have our very own plum tree in our front yard.  I’m the type of person who wouldn’t eat from anything that I hadn’t taken care of, but Andrew will try anything that looks okay.  Thus, just the other night we were all in our front yard chewing on these small, but I must admit very yummy plums.  Maya LOVES them!  She especially loves that she can pick them herself.  She HATES when I have to take it away half way through to remove the pit (imagine a lovely little tantrum and not wanting to take it back all squished up).  But it’s been fun having our own plum tree – we even shared with the neighbors.

I don’t think we will be a fruit farm anytime soon, but we do have a pear tree & 2 apple trees as well.  The apples are plentiful, but insects seem to have ruined them before we could spray.  No pears this year, but we’re hopeful for next year.  So we enjoyed our plums the last few days and now all we have to do is figure out how to explain to Maya that they’re all gone & she can’t pick them anymore….hmmm!

One comment

  1. So cool! Mom and Dad gave me a coupon for a fruit tree for my birthday. We haven’t cashed it in yet, but now that I know you can grow plums in MA maybe we’ll do that instead of the standard apple or pear. And really you had never eaten a plum until you met Andrew?!!



Leave a Reply

