h1

Traffic Tuesdays – The Drive By

August 4, 2010

Tuesday is a work day for me, which means it’s also a traffic day!  Some Tuesdays aren’t SO bad (Thursdays are always bad), but inevitably something interesting happens.  I’m hopeful that I’ll have something to report every Tuesday.   Today did not disappoint.

Driving down Rte 2 – after surviving a large amount of traffic on 95 – I had what I like to call the ‘drive by’.  I hear a honk, I turn to my left – in the other lane a guy in a red car starts waving to me.  I wave back, thinking I might know him.  Another quick look – nope, don’t know him.  hmmm.  I have a Stonehill sticker, maybe he went there too.  Look in my rearview mirror & he’s giving me the ‘call me’ sign.  Seriously?!  Is he hitting on me, in traffic, from a car away?  What does he think is going to happen?  It reminds me of a favorite Jerry Seinfeld skit:

“This is why you see men honking car-horns, yelling from construction sites. These are the best ideas we’ve had so far.. The car-horn-honk, is that a beauty? Have you seen men doing this? What is this? The man is in the car, the woman walks by the front of the car, he honks. This man is out of ideas. I mean what is he expecting? For the woman to stop and say “Hey you honked at me .. Ahhhh that’s so sweet .. I never knew you felt this way!”? “

I mean honestly – did he think I was going to stop in the middle of traffic?  Let alone, who hits on a girl driving a rusted out pathfinder, sporting windows down hair (because the car doesn’t have air conditioning), and packing a carseat in the back?  Is this seriously the ‘best idea’ he had that day??!  It just boggles my mind.  And this wasn’t the first time this happened this summer – it happened driving down 95 too, only that time I had Maya in the car & the guy wouldn’t give up even after I flashed my ring & showed him Maya!  We quickly got of the highway & lost him.

What is WRONG with guys?  Focus on the road!  There are so many bad drivers out there between texting, talking, eating, radios…the last thing men need is another distraction!  Stick to the road boys….stick to the road!  The honk-the-horn tactic does not work! 

(Although I will admit I know one story of people who met & married this way…but what are the odds there?)

**thos post is dedicated to my aussie roomies – Diane, Rich, Marlene & Scott.  They know why…love u guys!

2 comments

  1. Sorry, it was me.


    • Ha! Definitely not u…but your car is very similar!! 🙂



Leave a Reply

